Alchemy

by Rory Sutherland

Category: Business & Economics

Book Reviews

  • Trying to make sense of consumer behavior through a rationalist frame work is a losing game Rory Sutherland wrote the best book I’ve ever read on this intersection of psychology, sales, business, and decision making https://t.co/aO6d1IGboRLink to Tweet
  • July 2020 Product Management book recommendations: 1. Super Thinking 2. The War of Art 3. 100 Things Every Designer Needs to Know About People 4. Alchemy 5. The Cartoon Guide to Statistics 6. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People https://t.co/38LYLjPdu3Link to Tweet
  • our second book in the @TWiStartups book club is "Alchemy: The Dark Art and Curious Science of Creating Magic in Brands, Business, and Life" by @rorysutherland Monday May 11th and 18th at 6pm PT https://t.co/0rgm8dRxXd (join the #books room) https://t.co/6h40tNqLkFLink to Tweet
  • At this point, we get to the part of the talk where I leave exercises for the audience (and for you here). If you are a PM (or if work on products in almost any capacity), you must read "Alchemy" by @rorysutherland. https://t.co/YsuGViJlMVLink to Tweet
  • I loved the backstory on Red Bull's success despite less than stellar early reviews Alchemy is full of good stories & anecdotes like this https://t.co/f6E9OrYKoR https://t.co/Vc3PYcLfC4Link to Tweet
  • I’ve been struggling to find a great non-fiction book lately, but Alchemy by @rorysutherland is off to a strong start. Looking forward to the rest. https://t.co/Oo0JaYshaILink to Tweet
  • Immediate purchase of @rorysutherland's new book: Alchemy https://t.co/GASJh3z89T [Rory is on my short "Read Everything They Publish" List]Link to Tweet

About Book

The legendary advertising guru—Ogilvy UK’s vice chairman—and star of three massively popular TED Talks, blends the science of human behavior with his vast experience in the art of persuasion in this incomparable book that decodes successful branding and marketing in the vein of Freakonomics, Thinking Fast and Slow, and The Power of Habit. When Rory Sutherland was a trainee working on a direct mail campaign at the famed advertising firm OgilvyOne, he noticed that very small changes in design often had immense effects on the number of consumer responses. Yet no one he worked with knew why. Sutherland began taking stock of each effective yet nebulous trick—”the thing which has no name”—he discovered. As he rose in the advertising industry, he began to understand why these things had no name: no one was interested in quantifying them, cataloguing them, or really investigating them. So, he did it himself. Like classic behavioral economists Daniel Kahneman and Richard Thaler, Sutherland peels away hidden, often irrational human behaviors that explain how the world around us functions. In How to Be an Alchemist he examines why certain ads work and the broader truths they tell us about who we are. Why do people prefer stripy toothpaste, and how might that help us design retirement plans that young people would actually buy? Why do we think orange juice is healthy, and how does the same principle guide our feelings about nuclear reactors? Why do budget airlines advertise services they don’t offer—and what might insurance companies learn from them about keeping healthcare costs low? Filled with startling and profound conclusions, Sutherland’s journey through the world of advertising and its surprising lessons for human behavior is insightful, brilliant, eye-opening, and irresistibly fun.

More Books in Business & Economics