Book mentions in this thread

  • Votes: 8

    The Moon Hunters

    by Anya Pavelle

    For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Gender Game comes a captivating new story like no other. The Pestilence sweeps the globe with terrifying speed. A group of survivors finds an island sanctuary. Three generations later, no one has heard from the outside world in years. The old radio only crackles with static. The Pestilence either finished its job or the world tore itself apart. In the Village of Lehom, Leilani has been called to court as a Virtue by the King. Going to court means losing her independence and self-respect. Unfortunately, she doesn't have a choice. Leilani decides to take a stand; the King be damned. She plans a daring escape and sets in motion a series of events that will shake the foundation of her village and the island to its core. What reviewers are saying: "This is an engaging story with complex but believable characters and an interesting presentation of story- a journal, a retelling of the past, and an exploration of the present. Anya moves seamlessly among those sources to develop themes of resilience, courage and integrity within three unique cultures. A great read....one of the few books that demands both a prequel and a sequel! Thank you, Anya, for sharing this with us all!" -StoryCollector "If you're a fan of Divergent, The Maze Runner, and The Hunger Games, this is the perfect book for you. I love a good dystopian thriller and Moon Hunters did not disappoint. While borrowing themes from the classics, the plot is unique. The characters are very well developed and you can't help but rally behind them. The story pulled me in within the first few pages and I had a hard time putting it down. I highly recommend it." -Eric S. "I highly recommend "The Moon Hunters" by Anya Pavelle. It's a great story of standing up for what you believe in. It also features a strong female lead character. The book is a thrilling example of excellent post-apocalyptic sci-fi at its best. The author crafts a tale that is both an epic worldbuilder and riveting adventure. Do yourself a favor and grab a copy. You'll be glad you did." -DTM
  • Votes: 8

    Behind Blue Eyes

    by Mark S Miller

  • Votes: 8

    Haunted

    by Chuck Palahniuk

  • Votes: 8

    The De-Coding of Jo

    by Lali A. Love

  • Votes: 7

    Watch Her Fall

    by Erin Kelly

  • Votes: 4

    Dark Ocean

    by Patrick Carpenter

  • Votes: 4

    A Girl Called Ari

    by P. J. Sky

    "It's been a hot minute since I've read a book that fits so well into the dystopian genre" - Witty & Sarcastic Book Club "You MUST MUST MUST read the book. Oh, and watch out for crocodiles!" - Taryn, Dragons Codex "The absolute strength of the book is the ongoing dynamic and developing relationship between the two which always feels natural and believable" - Bookends & Bagends In a distant future... A world divided... A walled city in a devastated wasteland... a struggle for power becomes a struggle to survive... with friends like these, who needs enemies? How would you survive beyond the comfortable walls of your world? For Starla, a struggle for power becomes a struggle for survival when she finds herself on the wrong side of the wall. Fleeing her abductors and lost in the wasteland, she faces starvation, warring factions, bloodthirsty creatures, and the endless burning sun. And then there's Ari... who is she really? And can she really trust this girl from the wasteland to lead her back to the city gates? One thing's for sure, Starla's once privileged life will never be the same...
  • Votes: 3

    War Doctor

    by David Nott

  • Votes: 3

    Good in the Zak

    by Jess Savage

  • Votes: 3

    The Menagerie

    by J.S. Frankel

  • Votes: 3

    The Many Personalities of Me

    by Miss Yael Gottesman

  • Votes: 2

    The Architect's Apprentice

    by Elif Shafak

  • Votes: 2

    Ghost Wall

    by Sarah Moss

  • Votes: 2

    Gentlemen and Players

    by Joanne Harris

  • Votes: 1

    Homeland Elegies

    by Ayad Akhtar